Home | Contact | About MOS | Membership | Publications | Prizes | Meetings | IPCO | ISMP | Links | Album | Jobs
Mathematical Optimization Society

MOS Prizes

MOS Prizes


The Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization

citations 2021
past winners

The Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization is awarded jointly by MOS and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM). The prize was established in 2002 and was awarded for the first time at the Eighteenth International Symposium on Mathematical Programming in 2003. To be eligible for the prize, the work must be either a paper or book consisting chiefly of original results, which has appeared in the six calendar years preceding the year in which the award is made.

Principal Guidelines

The prize is awarded for outstanding works in the area of continuous optimization. Judging of works will be based primarily on their mathematical quality, significance, and originality. Clarity and excellence of the exposition and the value of the work in practical applications may be considered as secondary attributes.

Prize Committee

The Chair on Mathematical Programming and the President of SIAM will jointly appoint a prize committee consisting of four members (the "Prize Committee") for each award. The Chair will designate one of the members as chair of this committee. Appointments to the Prize Committee should be made at least two years before the prize award date.

Committee members will be members of the Society and/or SIAM. At least two members of the committee will be members Society and at least two will be members of SIAM. The Prize Committee will deliver its final report with its nominee(s) at least six months prior to the prize award date. The committee will complete its duties with the awarding of the prize. If the Prize Committee reports that no prize can be awarded, then the prize money will be used to increase the endowment and the duties of the committee will be completed.

The Prize Committee will devise its own procedures for acquiring nominations or otherwise searching out works of interest.


To be eligible, works should be the final publication of the main result(s) and should be published either

  1. as an article in a recognized journal, or in a comparable, well-referenced volume intended to publish final publications only; or
  2. as a mono- graph consisting chiefly of original results rather than previously published material.

Extended abstracts and prepublications, and articles published in journals, journal sections or proceedings that are intended to publish non-final papers, are not eligible. The work must have been published during the six calendar years preceding the year of the award meeting. The publication year for the paper will be defined to be the print publication year, for any volume that appears in print, or the electronic publication year, for any volume that appears only in electronic form. The extended period of six years is in recognition of the fact that the value of fundamental work cannot always be immediately assessed.


The Prize Committee is responsible for solicitation and evaluation of nominations. A call for nominations should be placed in appropriate SIAM, MOS, and other publications. The proposed recipient(s) for the award should be presented by the Prize Committee to the Executive Committees of the SIAM Council and of the Society, via the President of SIAM and the chair of MOS. The proposed recipient(s) for the award must be accompanied by a written justification and a citation of about 100 words that can be read at the award date. Both SIAM and the MOS must approve the proposed recipients(s) for the prize to be awarded. Rejection by either one of the two societies will nullify the proposal. If the proposed recipient(s) of the Prize Committee is (are) rejected by the MOS and/or SIAM, the Prize Committee may propose a second recipient or recipients.

Prize Award Date

Beginning in 2003, an award will be presented triennially alternating between the International Symposium on Mathematical Programming and a SIAM meeting (either the SIAM Annual Meeting or a meeting of the Optimization Activity Group). The prize will be considered every three years. If no prize is awarded, the award date moves ahead three years.

Description of the Award

The award is to include a certificate containing the citation and a cash prize of $1,500. In the event of joint authorship, the prize will be divided.

top of page

Winners of the Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization

Year Winners Jury
2003 Adrian Lewis C. T. Kelley, C. Lemaréchal, M. Todd, S. Wright
2006 Roger Fletcher, Sven Leyffer, Philippe L. Toint M. Todd (chair), J. Dennis, N. Gould, A. Lewis
2009 Jean B. Lasserre A. Lewis (chair), J. Moré, Ph. Toint, M. Wright
2012 Emmanuel J. Candès and Benjamin Recht T. Terlaky (chair), K. Anstreicher, D. Goldfarb, T. Liebling
2015 Andrew R. Conn, Katya Scheinberg, Luis Nunes Vicente M. Anitescu (chair), K. Anstreicher, L. Biegler, W. Römisch
2018 Francis Bach, Nicolas Le Roux, Mark Schmidt Philip E. Gill, Andreas Griewank, Etienne De Klerk, Katya Scheinberg (chair)
2021 Léon Bottou, Frank E. Curtis, and Jorge Nocedal Sven Leyffer (chair), Xiaojun Chen, Etienne de Klerk, Philip Gill