Home | Contact | About MOS | Membership | Publications | Prizes | Meetings | IPCO | ISMP | Links | Album | Jobs
Mathematical Optimization Society

MOS Prizes

Tseng Memorial Lectureship - Call for nominations 2021


Call for Nominations: Paul Y. Tseng Memorial Lectureship 2021

The Mathematical Optimization Society invites nominations for the Paul Y. Tseng Memorial Lectureship in Continuous Optimization. This prize was established in 2011 and will be presented for the fourth time at the International Symposium on Mathematical Programming 2021. The lectureship was established on the initiative of family and friends of Professor Tseng, with financial contributions to the endowment also from universities and companies in the Asia-Pacific region. The purposes of the lectureship are to commemorate the outstanding contributions of Professor Tseng in continuous optimization and to promote the research and applications of continuous optimization in the Asia-Pacific region.

The lectureship is awarded to an individual for outstanding contributions in the area of continuous optimization, consisting of original theoretical results, innovative applications, or successful software development. The primary consideration in the selection process is the quality and impact of the candidate's work in continuous optimization. See here for more details.

The members of the 2021 Paul Y. Tseng Memorial Lectureship committee are:

  • Jim Burke, University of Washington
  • Dachuan Xu, Beijing University of Technology
  • Liwei Zhang, Dalian University of Technology

The nomination must include a nomination letter of no more than two pages and a short CV of the candidate (no more than three pages, including selected publications). In addition, the nominator should also arrange for 1-2 letters of recommendation (no more than two pages). All nomination materials should be sent (preferably in electronic form, as pdf documents) to:

Professor Zhi-Quan Luo
School of Science and Engineering
The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen

All nomination materials must be received by December 31, 2020.

Previous winners of the Tseng Lectureship are listed here. Further information about the Tseng Lectureship can be found here.