Home | Contact | About MOS | Membership | Publications | Prizes | Meetings | IPCO | ISMP | Links | Album | Jobs
Mathematical Optimization Society

MOS Prizes

Tucker Prize - Call for nominations 2021


Tucker Prize: Call for nominations 2021

The Mathematical Optimization Society solicits nominations for the 2021 A.W. Tucker Prize, which will be awarded for an outstanding doctoral thesis in any area of mathematical optimization. The Tucker Prize Committee will screen the nominations and select at most three finalists. The finalists will be invited to give oral presentations of their work at a special session of the International Symposium on Mathematical Programming 2021. The Tucker Prize Committee will select the winner before the symposium and present the award prior to the conclusion of the symposium.

The doctoral thesis must have been approved formally (with signatures) by the nominee's thesis committee between January 1, 2018 and January 1, 2021.

The winner will receive an award of US$ 1,000 and a certificate. The other finalists will also receive certificates. The Society will also pay partial travel expenses for each finalist to attend the Symposium. Reimbursements will normally be limited to US$ 750. The nominee's doctoral institution will be encouraged to assist any nominee selected as a finalist with additional travel expense.

The members of the 2021 Tucker Prize committee are:

  • Frank Curtis, Lehigh University
  • Simge Küçükyavuz, NorthwesternUniversity
  • Francesca Maggioni, University of Bergamo
  • Laura Sanita, University of Waterloo
  • Amitabh Basu (Chair), John Hopkins University

Nominations must be made by electronic mail to Professor Amitabh Basu, abasu9@jhu.edu

The nominator must be a faculty member at the institution that awards the nominee's doctoral degree, or a member of the nominee's thesis committee. Applications should consist of the following four pdf files:

  • a letter of nomination,
  • the nominee's thesis,
  • a separate summary of the thesis' contributions, written by the nominee, no more than five (5) pages in length,
  • a brief biographical sketch of the nominee.

Nominations and the accompanying documentation must be written in English. The Tucker Prize Committee may request additional information.

The deadline for nominations is January 15, 2021.

Previous winners of the Tucker Prize are listed here. Further information about the Tucker Prize can be found here.